Grant County

Treasurer

The County Treasurer is responsible for managing and safeguarding public funds. Key duties include:

  • Collecting and monitoring delinquent real estate and mobile home taxes
  • Collecting special assessments and other monies owed to the county
  • Work with Auditor to process accounts payable
  • Administering tax sale procedures
  • Processes assessment freeze applications for qualifying seniors and persons with disabilities
  • State Sales Tax Refund Program. Applications available in office.
  • Issues distress warrants for the Department of Revenue and Department of Labor
  • Act as an agent of the Department of Motor Vehicles

Motor Vehicle Services

All South Dakota motor vehicle transactions must be done in your county of residence, except for military personnel using their parents’ Grant County address. Acting as an agent of the South Dakota Department of Motor Vehicles, the Treasurer provides the following services:

  • Issuing Licenses – The County Treasurer issues licenses for non-commercial and commercial vehicles, trailers, motorcycles, off-road vehicles, snowmobiles, and watercraft.
  • Issuing Permits – Permits are issued for in-transit vehicles, commercial vehicles, mobile home moves, commercial harvesting, and handicapped parking.
  • Processing Titles – The office handles motor vehicle title transactions, including transfers, duplicate titles, and the recording or release of title liens.
  • Documentation – Current driver’s license, social security card, odometer reading on all entities as well as a printed weight ticket on special entities. Examples of special entities: trailers, campers/RVs, classic autos, dump trucks, semi trucks and more.

Vehicle Registration Renewals
You must bring one of the following with you:

Individuals Company or Trusts
SD driver license FEIN Number
Social security number Renewal notice
Renewal notice

For vehicle registration renewals if you are not the owner, you will need their permission (by a signed permission slip, phone call or POA document) in addition to the above.

All other motor vehicle transactions need to be completed by the owner themselves, or the owner must completely fill out and sign the correct form(s) available in the county office or found on the My605Drive website. These forms must accompany the person completing the transaction for the owner.

Fees

  • Mailings –  $2.50 per each registration/document & $12.00 per set of plates mailed: HB 1034; 2026

$25.00 Administration fee: SDCL 32-3-18.1: SDCL 32-3A-21.1 allows counties to charge an administrative fee for applications for initial title, interstate title and registrations completed entirely by mail. South Dakota residents are included; No administration fee under this section may be charged to any insurance company or dealer licensed in South Dakota.

Payments

  • Checks (No out-of-state, counter, starter, or two-party checks)
  • Cashier’s checks/Money orders
  • Cash
  • Credit Cards (processing fee applies)

Notes on Other Transactions

  • 2290 Heavy Use Forms – must be filed in the registered owner’s name with the IRS every year starting July 1 and completed by September 1 of the current year. To register/renew a heavy use vehicle, you must have the current year IRS stamped form.
  • Newly purchased heavy use trucks require a Request for Tonnage Form and still need to be filed in the registered owner’s name to the IRS and provide a stamped copy within 60 days to the county treasurer’s office.
  • Transfer of a newly purchased entity –  original documents required; NO PHOTOCOPIES. Title & Bill of Sale required.
  • License Plate Application: Please ensure that the person applying for the Title and Registration is the one signing the application, unless the person signing has power of attorney for the applicant. Please attach POA document information with the Title and Registration application.
  • Renewing for someone? You will need their permission by a signed permission slip, phone call, or POA document with their SD driver license number or Social Security Number.
  • Transfers on prior out of state trailers, recreation vehicles, or specialty vehicles, you will need a printed weight ticket or a similar document stating the shipping/dry weight of the entity you are transferring.
  • Odometer readings are required on 20 year and newer vehicles on all title transfers.
  • Residents moving into the State of SD will need to provide both a U.S. Government issued DL/ID/photo card and Social Security card or some form of government issued document with full name and full SSN shown.

Karla DeVaal

210 E 5th Ave., Milbank, SD 57252

Monday-Friday, 8:00am-4:30pm